Hope of the Fatherland

Current System Configuration: Frustrated
Earworms:
-Olympia by JAM Project [Anison] Yes, I like the song that much.
-Memory from Tobias Sammet’s Avantasia: The Metal Opera
Sustenance:
[Breakfast] Pancakes with Cheese Whiz
[Lunch] Spaghetti with meat sauce
[Dinner] Spaghetti with meat sauce
Current Read:
None

Two consecutive days of disappointments. My students have been giving their prepared speeches, and in general I was not pleased with them. Except for a few pairs, most were in dismal shape. I voiced my concern and admitted my inadequacies. Yes, my instructions were too unreasonable. I could have given them guide questions and particular issues to focus on. These are mistakes that I have to correct, so help me God. But after all that, someone still had the audacity to post on my forums the following message:

“Wait till Monday, sir! You will hear the worst speech from us.”

This infuriated me. This was my reply.

This isn’t something you can joke about anymore, I’m afraid. That’s the last thing I wanted to hear. I’m tired of disappointments. I want something impressive. Of course, whether you want to get better or not is entirely up to you.
I know I’m not perfect, but am I that bad a teacher, that you’re bent on showing me your worst? You guys did well in the first quarter, so why are you doing this now? Is being the worst something to be proud of? Are you content with a miserable performance?

That’s exactly why I have EPs. I even chose the word EFFORT to emphasize that I want to see it in class. I wanted to give students who are not so good in English a chance to improve themselves by exerting more effort. That’s why you don’t get EPs for a merely passing score. That’s why you get double EPs for a perfect score. That’s why your effort actually has a chance of affecting your grade! But apparently you don’t want to do that. You’re happy with being mediocre, and I’m not happy with that. Give me a good reason to leave the future of my country in your hands.

Please be sensitive with your words. I know you’re joking, but this is not the time to do so.

The careless statement was withdrawn, and I want to tell the person responsible that he is forgiven. Nonetheless, I think it still makes sense to keep my challenge in mind. It seems to me that by and large, the Filipino youth of today has devolved into a bunch of DotA addicts who couldn’t care less about their future. The few students who I actually see genuinely putting effort into their studies are all female. More power to you, girls. But a vast majority of the guys seem to be too immature.

I don’t mean you should put away your playthings, guys. I haven’t put away my Magic cards, my anime videos, or my gadgets. There is, however, one important thing that you are forgetting: stay in touch with reality. We’re leaving you a messed-up world, and it takes people with convictions (and the grace of God) to fix it.

Now, I want to applaud a couple of brave young men who did see the need to stand up in the face of adversity. I was so disappointed with one of my classes that I threatened to walk out. I had already closed my laptop cover when one of my students raised his hand and volunteered to speak. For their bravery and willingness to get creamed just so that the class would go on, I allowed them to pick a new number that would determine the topic they had to report on. Of course, they picked a number they were actually ready for.

Congratulations, the two of you. You may be heroes in the making. But again, your destiny is up to you.

 

Hotblooded and Awesome
In other news, I finally found the lyrics to Olympia. Of course, it’s entirely in Japanese, and I don’t have enough confidence in my Japanese skills to translate it in its glorious entirety. That and I have a long test to make.

OLYMPIA by JAM Project (Hironobu Kageyama, Masami Okui, Yoshiki Fukuyama, Rika Matsumoto, Masaaki Endou, Hiroshi Kitadani)
GAIA’S bravest 姿を隠し
太陽は涙を流す
Never arrive in 荒れ狂う空
怒りにも似た情景

誰も限られた時間
刻む命を 与えられたWayfere
いつか出遭うと信じ
楽園求め歩く

Believe myself
灯せ! 真実の炎を
Believe oneself
決して消えることはない
Feel myself
目指せ! 栄光の場所
Feel oneself
永遠に輝けOlympia

古のときより 繰り返す叫び
恐れる事はない
苦しみ 悲しみ 怒りの涙
今力にかえて

Believe myself
掴め! 真実のカギ
Believe oneself
繋げ! 明日を夢見て
Feel myself
歌え! 勇気の歌を
Feel oneself
急げ! 運命のメシア

風を感じて歩き出せ
夜明けは近い 明けゆく空
僕達はまだ この旅の途中

目覚めよ 風の中
目を凝らし前を向け
目覚めよ 時は来た
立ち止まらず歩きだせ

One way
戻れない イチかバチかの戦いだぜ!
Hey you can do it!
その手で勝ち取れ掴み取れ
LOVE 花を咲かせよう
枯れない花を
今 目の前に広がる
果て無き夢を

止めらんない熱い
Heart & and soul
負けらんない誰にも
Don’t give up

風を追い越して
約束のあの場所まで
Let’s go 飛び出そう
無限の空へ
Fly away[Believe myself]
越えていけ
Try again[Believe yourself]
振り向かずに
どんな時も負けない絆があるから
何が起きてもヘッチャラさ
Don’t stop, believe in forever!

未だ見ぬ明日 夢のOlympia
僕達と行こう 愛のOlympia
辿り着けるさ You may know Olympia
一緒に行こう I know Olympia

未だ見ぬ明日 夢のOlympia
僕達と行こう 愛のOlympia
辿り着けるさ You may know Olympia
一緒に行こう I know Olympia

未だ見ぬ明日 夢のOlympia
僕達と行こう 愛のOlympia
辿り着けるさ You may know Olympia
一緒に行こう I know Olympia
Olympia

I’ll post a translation when I get around to doing it (or finding one).

Trying to save the future,

Your Black Lion

~ by J. R. R. Flores on September 22, 2006.

6 Responses to “Hope of the Fatherland”

  1. Wow. I don’t recall us having the guts to say that to our teachers. To be honest, after that statement, your students or at least the person who said that, is lucky that you were his teacher. He would have failed outright if it was one of our old school teachers who made that statement.

  2. Oh my goodness, that song has a lot of kanji.

    I can understand some of the song, thankfully, but my knowledge of the translation between chinese characters and kanji is a bit fuzzy. I’ll see what kind of fuzzy translation I can do, though. This is a nice project to eat up my free time. :D

  3. It was Dane!!! He was just joking though. Anyway, He shouldn’t have said that.

    I am really sorry, sir. It’s just that it’s too hard to prepare by reading 20 newspapers and some (the Miriam Santiago i think and Steve Erwin’s death) are not in those newspapers. We have to memorize a lot, sir!!! Plus, we’re too lazy to read. I guess it’s not entirely your fault and it’s not entirely our fault. An easier impromptu speech might remedy that. :)

  4. It wasn’t that it was hard. It’s that my instructions were unclear. Furthermore, Miriam’s eating disorder was in the newspaper. The reason you felt like you had to “memorize” it was because I didn’t give you guide questions.

  5. It was?!?!?! I thought that it was only in the Manila Bulletin. Sir, even if you gave us guide questions, we would still have to read like 80 articles!

  6. great story of the fatherland

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

