Shattering the Chains

Current System Configuration: Crushed but hopeful
Earworms:
Ages of Power by Freedom Call [Power Metal]
Sustenance:
[Breakfast] Toast and luncheon meat
[Lunch] Jollibee Champ
[Dinner] None
[Coffee] CCF-Brew coffee, Usual Starbucks
Current Read:
None

Lately I’ve been evaluating my teaching, and I really think that I’ve slipped a lot since the start of the year. I don’t know if it’s my emotional struggles that’s causing it, or that I’ve just been trying things that just don’t work. But I’m pretty sure that something is lacking, and it’s mostly my fault.

I’d be a fool to blame everything on my students or the system of the school or my lack of training or the world at large. Something is clearly my fault, and it has to be dealt with.
Furthermore, I don’t really think I have to look very far. The problem is coming from my lack of enthusiasm.

I may have been treating my students like projects, not people. I may have been treating them simply like information vessels. I remember hearing this illustration in grade school, and now that I’ve gone through a seminar (Seven Laws of the Learner), in hindsight I think this illustration is completely wrong. If a teacher does nothing but stuff the students with facts, dumping all the valuable knowledge of this world on them as if it were trash and they were trash bins, what do we get out of them? I realize that I’ve been dumping a lot of the work on them. An unreasonable amount of work. Even my boss noticed that I’ve gotten less patient, more hotheaded, and generally less reasonable than I was last year.

This of course, does not bode well for the job that I so claimed to love. Nevertheless, it’s stil early, and I can still stop the train wreck from happening, by God’s grace. I have to remember that I have nothing to bank on. I was not trained as a teacher, and whatever victories I had during the first year were only by the grace of God. It all boils down to that.

I can’t do it.

But I want to. It’s my calling. I want to break the chains of ignorance and passivity that have been strangling my country for so long. I know how to improve. I know what to do. And by God’s grace, I can do it. Only by His grace. Not by might, not by power, but by His Spirit.

I need to do more. I need to be more. I want to be a mentor, not a tormentor. I want to give these children hope and the strength of heart to be all that they were meant to be. As Chris Bay of Freedom Call would say:

Back to the Ages of Power! It’s time for us to learn!
One day it’s far too late to make the world return!
Arise from the cower! [sic] From the day on we have learned!
It’s high time to break the spell that’s chaining up the world!

Grasping the chains,

Your Black Lion

~ by J. R. R. Flores on September 23, 2006.

14 Responses to “Shattering the Chains”

  1. The Serenity Prayer

    God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things I cannot change;
    courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference.

    Living one day at a time;
    Enjoying one moment at a time;
    Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
    Taking, as He did, this sinful world
    as it is, not as I would have it;
    Trusting that He will make all things right
    if I surrender to His Will;
    That I may be reasonably happy in this life
    and supremely happy with Him
    Forever in the next.
    Amen.

    –Reinhold Niebuhr

    Trust in the LORD with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
    in all your ways acknowledge him,
    and he will direct your paths.

    Proverbs 3, 5-6

  2. Thanks, Michael. God makes such little gestures such a big help.

  3. It’s our fault too, Sir Joey. But you’re also right. English is very hard now and I think that it is my lowest subject. I think that you should give less and easier requirements. English is fun (except the grammar lessons) but hard.

  4. I’m afraid it’s not that simple. Giving you easier and less requirements is a cop-out. Our job is to cause you to learn, and simply making it easier does not necessarily guarantee that.

  5. Ok, sir. Can you at least make the prices of the additional points cheaper? I really need it to cope with my 3 failed quizzes.😦

  6. Remember that you’re already getting 1 perfect quiz worth of bonus points.

  7. Hahaha. Now your blog’s a bonus point tiangge. But yeah, I guess we can’t expect too much from our students. At the same time, you shouldn’t expect too much from yourself as well. You’re boiling with A LOT of ideas. But sometimes you want all these things to happen so fast. Tolkien, for one, is not everyone’s kind of genre and it can be quite overwhelming. I have a feeling you and your kids had more fun last year since you were introducing a lot of cool new stuff.

    Our hindsight is 20/20. It’s good that you get to analyze things in retrospect.

  8. hihi sir.. i have no idea how you’re doing as a teacher this year po.. pero last year.. sabi nga ni righteously insane.. we did have fun po ^^ and dba.. kung nakaya niyo po last year.. malamang na kaya niyo rin gawin this year ^^.. go sir! kayang-kaya niyo yan!

  9. Thanks Belsha.😀

  10. hmmm…..sir maybe it’s because a whole new set of people you’re dealing with now, which causes your short-temperedness(?). Basta alam ko topaz namin last year madalas masaya tuwing english.🙂

  11. That could be true as well. In any case, things look like they’re getting better. Thanks JV.

  12. I dunno, sir, but if you’re becoming more hotheaded and less reasonable and stuff like that, wouldn’t I notice it? Or is it just that I’m becoming less observant?

    Maybe you’re right, sir. There probably is something wrong, even if I can’t see it. It could be on your part, it could also be our fault, but from what you’ve said, it doesn’t look like anything you can’t fix, sir.

    Besides–if you can deal with ninety kids five days a week for ten months staright, then I guess you can deal with most problems that comes your way, sir.

  13. Hi sir.

    Like Joe said (up there), I haven’t been noticing anything different. Or maybe that’s just me. You’re still the coolest teacher we have (in my opinion, anyway) and I’m really enjoying our lessons, despite the slight drop of my grades. But I really respect you for not only deciding to be a teacher, but wanting to be a teacher. I could never do that: have enough patience to deal with a lot of kids and hope that when you let go of them, they’ve learned something. It takes a lot of bravery. I think you’re doing fine, sir.🙂

  14. Thanks again Andie.🙂 It really helps to hear comments like that. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

 
