House of Sorrow, Land of Light

Current System Configuration: No longer leeching power

Earworms:
Land of Light by Freedom Call [Power Metal] I HAVE POWER. YES.

Sustenance:
[Breakfast] Merced Bakeshop raisin bread and pears
[Lunch]  Merced Bakeshop raisin bread and pears
[Dinner] SPAGHETTI
[Coffee] None, can’t drink coffee
Current Read:
None

This morning, it was still dark, the 8th day of the blackout. We were one of the few parts of Metro Manila that was still sitting in the darkness caused by the typhoon. At around 2 pm, grandma sent me a text message.

“We have electric at home”

This has been an awesome day. Sure, my stomach has been in pain. Over the weekend I ate some meat that was no longer edible. (We were clearing out the fridge because it had failed due to the power outage, so we were consuming everything we could.) The mass of decaying flesh totally trashed my tubes. Nastiest feeling I’ve had in a long time. As such, my diet has been reduced to crackers, water, oral rehydration salts, and pears. Nevertheless, I received a whole bunch of awesome birthday presents.

-Electricity
-My laptop, along with a backpack for carrying
-A really cute video greeting recorded by my students
-TWO cakes, also from my students

 Sure, the material blessings are great, but I’m also really happy to see how loved I am. It really helps after a long, painful week. I just hope and pray that all the lessons I’ve learned during that time stay with me. I guess walking through a dark tunnel makes me appreciate the light all the more—so that light won’t blind me when I get out of the tunnel.

I wish I could say I had taken the trials of the past week with the grace of God. No, I was grumbling, cranky, irritable and self-centered. But I guess the Lord has his ways of thrashing my ego into submission. “Thrashing,” you say? Isn’t that harsh? Nowhere as harsh as my ego has been.

I think this all started with the Bible quote I included in the long test on The Giver that I gave my students.

“Sorrow is better than laughter for by the sadness of the countenance the heart is made better. The heart of the wise is in the house of mourning but the heart of fools is in the house of mirth.” –Ecclesiastes 7:3-4

Hopefully I did learn wisdom from my walk through the house of mourning and loss, though my pain be only superficial and material in nature. Nevertheless, I am very, very thankful for this day. Thank you to everyone who made this day worth remembering.

Enjoying a wonderful birthday,

Your Black Lion

~ by J. R. R. Flores on October 4, 2006.

7 Responses to “House of Sorrow, Land of Light”

  1. aww. “I guess walking through a dark tunnel makes me appreciate the light all the more—so that light won’t blind me when I get out of the tunnel.” ganda! *applauds sir joey*

    happy birthday sir! glad you liked the vid we made. but coz of what joe mentioned in his dedication you cant post it here. aww.😦

    hehe.
    😀

  2. Haha! One of the few perks of teaching but compared to corporate life, that’s the perk THAT COUNTS!

    I love you, bro. Happy birthday!

  3. Whee, happy birthday, Sir!

    *dances*

    Good thing you liked that vid. Joe ruined the fun, though, so you can’t post it here. Hehe.

    Thanks for everything! =D

  4. Thanks again, everyone.😀 Well, maybe Joe was thinking too much about his own, uh, obsessions when he said that. D:

  5. I hope what Joe said in that vid gets censored so that you can post it here. Hehe.😄

    Belated happy birthday!

  6. *laughs evilly again*

  7. “I hope what Joe said in that vid gets censored so that you can post it here. Hehe. XD”

    then people would like to find out what was censored =D

Leave a Reply

 
