The Lost Colony

Earworms:
Heart of the Brave by Freedom Call [Power Metal]

Take the power and fight for the brave! And the power of Freedom remains!
Sustenance:
[Breakfast] Merced Bakeshop taisan cake
[Lunch] Fruit Magic’s grilled Mediterranean veggie sandwich
[Dinner] none yet
[Coffee] Starbucks Usual
Current Read:
None, I want to buy a new book!
Just some minutes ago, I saw Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony on sale at Podium’s Ink and Stone. I was too excited to read the synopsis at the back, though.

For those not acquainted with Artemis Fowl, I think a good description of it would be that it is a very good alternative to Harry Potter. Artemis Fowl is a 12-year old genius–a criminal genius. He hails from a family of crime lords and intends to use his smarts for profit. Aurum est potestas. His main companion is Butler, a highly skilled bodyguard/hitman/personal assistant/cook. His considerable strength and skill make him a good complement to Artemis’s smarts, but he isn’t dumb muscle either. I don’t want to spoil any more.

Anyway, The Lost Colony is the fifth book in the series. (Artemis Fowl, The Arctic Incident, The Eternity Code, The Opal Deception) I expect it to be another awesome, action-packed volume. Eoin Colfer’s Irish sense of humor, coupled with his loveable characters and elegant plot twists make the Artemis Fowl a really good read. While I did love Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart, I found it a bit ponderous with its length. The Artemis Fowl books are just the right length for beginning readers.

I’d really like to say I want to drown in ink and paper, but I already am drowning in my students’ papers. D:

Voraciously bibliophilic,

Your Black Lion

~ by J. R. R. Flores on October 7, 2006.

3 Responses to “The Lost Colony”

  1. YOU SERIOUSLY SAW IT, SIR?! I HAVE TO BUY THAT BOOK! I HAVE TO, I HAVE TO!😀

  2. Yep, it really is there~

  3. i finished it ages ago!!! want me to spoil it for you?

Leave a Reply

 
