That Which Never Fails

Current System Configuration: VACATION, recovering from a cold
Earworms:
Carnival of Souls by Saviour Machine
Cry of the Brave by Dragonforce

Sustenance:
[Breakfast]: Pancakes with brown sugar
[Lunch:] —
[Dinner] —
[Coffee] –l
[Starbucks planner promo stickers:]
Cards Completed: 1. Now on my second.
Christmas Features: *****
Regular Beverages: *********
Total: 14/21
Current Reading List:
Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss
Inkspell by Cornelia Funke
The Crystal Shard by R.A. Salvatore

“To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything, and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements; lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket- safe, dark, motionless, airless–it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable.” — CS Lewis

By now we all know that love, despite all the giddy and fuzzy feelings it sometimes gives us, is painful. It often stings our eyes and chokes us, brings us to tears, and makes us feel like curling up in a dark corner.

Love is a difficult commitment, and we often find ourselves burned by it. But what about God?

God loves us no matter what, and many of us have heard of this. But God, being all-powerful as He is–does He get burned by love too? Two thousand years ago, He subjected Himself to the worst burning ever. He laid down His life for the people who refused, and still refuse, to believe in Him. Despite all of this, He continues to give us his uninfluenced, unchanging, and incorruptible love. His love never fails.

Loving as God does isn’t easy, though. We do open ourselves to the pain it causes. And that’s why I take back what I said a few posts back: that I wanted my love to wither and die. I’ve tried that for years. Despite distance and difference, it’s still there, refusing to die. Last Sunday, I realized why.

Love is based not on its object, but on its subject.

That means that in the statement “I love you,” the “you” isn’t the source OR reason for love. It’s the “I.” Why should I stop loving when it hurts me? Since when was it about me?

A little aside–I often looked down on the use of the word “charity” in place of “love.” I felt that the word “love” was all-encompassing, much more powerful, much deeper. But I was mistaken. The root word of “Charity” is the Latin “Caritas,” which does have a more exact meaning: It is the giving of oneself—a far more noble definition than the “love” which this world so loves to corrupt.

And so I’ll continue, I’ll persevere. I don’t mind the pain. Sure, it hurts, but really, since when was love supposed to be all soft and cuddly?

“The only place outside Heaven where you can be perfectly safe from all the dangers and perturbations of love is Hell. ” –C.S. Lewis

Keeping This Love from Failing,

Your Black Lion

~ by J. R. R. Flores on December 13, 2006.

5 Responses to “That Which Never Fails”

  1. aww, sir, that hit me hard.

    sir, don’t give up.🙂

    anyway, merry christmas, sir!

    oh, and thanks for the sig.🙂

    maaarz signing out.

  2. Marz is right, Dont give up Sir!

  3. yeah, sir. never ever give up.

    love is bittersweet.

    maaarz signing out.

  4. Y’know, bro, you’re a lot tougher than I am. And yet your love never stops coming. You know naman how it’s been with me, in and out of relationships ever since Celina. And as much as I’d love to stop, sit down and say I’m jaded, there’s still that part in me that seeks to love someone again. And it’s not because I found someone who would love me back. That is inevitable. But I keep going because I’ve got so much love in me that my heart, despite my jaded mind, constantly searches for someone to pour that love to.

    Cheers, bro. I love you.

  5. Sir, never ever give up. Just face the challenges in life and say, “Bring it on!!!”😀

Leave a Reply

 
