Misguided Rage

Current System Configuration: VACATION, almost done with Neverwinter Nights 2
Earworms:
COLORS by Flow (Opening of Code Geass)

Sustenance:
[Breakfast]: Grilled cheese sandwiche
[Lunch:] Homemade burger
[Dinner] –
[Coffee] –Starbucks usual
[Starbucks planner promo stickers:]
Cards Completed: 2. I don’t plan on getting any more. (Gave away both planners )

Current Reading List:
Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss
Inkspell by Cornelia Funke
The Crystal Shard by R.A. Salvatore
Promise of the Witch King by R.A. Salvatore

The human propensity for selfishness is incredible.

We often like to think of ourselves as “nice” or generally acceptable and well-meaning, but perhaps if we think about it more, we see that we are not.

Case in point: Earlier this afternoon, I was trying to hail a cab in order to run some errands. It was just a little after lunch, so many cabs were still on their way to eat. Thus, more than a few turned me down because they needed to eat. No, they weren’t the ones who were selfish. I was.

You see, I was seething. It came to a point where I wanted to just lunge and bash the window of the next cab driver who refused me. I wanted to do that, drag him out and smack him hard. All because I was in a hurry and I didn’t want to waste time standing on a potentially unsafe sidewalk while I could be going about my errand.

Now, I would think that the average person would be more sensible than cruel old me, but you get my point. It’s so easy to think of ourselves and so hard to love others. It just doesn’t come naturally to us. That’s why love isn’t a mere emotion. If we only love based on our emotions, we’d invariably “love” only for selfish reasons. But when we keep our emotions in check with a conscious choice to love, then we’ll actually get closer to the kind of love that God has for us.

I’ve mentioned in earlier entries that it is more than just a warm and fuzzy feeling. It’s a conscious act of the will, an act that we do anyway despite painful results.

Now on to something less serious. The rest of this post is related to Neverwinter Nights 2, which I am enjoying immensely. This is heavy on spoilers, so skip it if you plan to play the game and hate spoilers.

I’m currently on the last leg of the Official Campaign, and I have to say that I’m really very immersed in this game. I’ve already been able to reforge the Silver Sword of Gith, the only weapon that has the capacity to wound the main villain in this story, the King of Shadows.

While the Silver Sword isn’t really very good as a weapon (since it ignores all the bonuses you get for focusing on a particular type of weapon), it has some really nifty abilities: The blade can come off to dance around in an area, knocking down enemies and shredding them to bits. The shards can also come apart to hover around you, adding to your defense while ripping apart enemies that get caught in the storm, as if they’d been thrown into a giant magical blender. The shards can also swarm a single opponent and quickly return. The first two abilities use up charges, and you can recharge the sword by meditating. The last ability can be used infinitely.

Another part I really loved was the defense of Crossroad Keep, the last bastion of hope against the Shadow army. I got to stand up on the keep’s wall, fend off siege towers and kill any undead that made it through. Very epic and enjoyable.

On a less pleasant note, some of my companions already betrayed me. I guess my being a Lawful Good character didn’t please them so much. Oh well. <_<

Marching Against the King of Shadows,

Your Black Lion

~ by J. R. R. Flores on December 22, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
