Fallout

Earworms:
The Answer to the Question by Tree 63
Erian’s Mystical Rhymes by Rhapsody of Fire
Never Forgotten Heroes by Rhapsody of Fire
Watching:
Romeo X Juliet by Studio GONZO
Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann by GAINAX
Koutetsushin Jeeg
Recently Finished:
Martian Successor Nadesico by Studio XEBEC. 26 episodes + movie (The Prince of Darkness). Overall rating: 4.5/5
Reading Supposed to Read:
Nightwatch by Sergei Lukyanenko

I’m sure you’ve all heard about the Virgina Tech massacre by now. I don’t even need to add links to that, I’m sure you’ll find news about it.

I just don’t get it. I really don’t get it. I know young people have a lot of emotional problems—this guy was not a teenager but a 23-year old. He’s my age. This guy released his anger through his literature, but apparently that wasn’t enough.

I don’t really understand this trend in school shootings. There was a time when we thought that Columbine was an aberration and would never happen again, but that’s not the case anymore. Given that there’s a potential school shooter in practically any school, we now know that it can happen ANYWHERE.

Even in our own school we saw how a single child’s tendencies could erupt into a life-threatening situation—I am of course referring to the poisoning of Gelyn Fabro[search Google]. We still don’t know why this was done, we still don’t know what went on through the guy’s head. I guess we can be thankful that he didn’t kill himself, then we would really never know.

So what goes on in their heads? Is it just a predisposition to violence compounded by a serious social problem and easy access to firearms and other deadly weapons? Is it demonic possession? Mental illness? Whatever it is, I don’t think it’s something that can be glossed over so easily by both students and school authorities. The safety of schools worldwide is now in question, and everyone would do well to cooperate in making schools safer and more loving toward even the weirdest students.

Still, this question is up in the air: What causes them to do this?

EDIT: [Here] is the link to Cho Seung-Hui’s manifesto. I’ll leave this all up to the viewer for interpretation. I can’t really make sense out of what he is saying as he does not mention any specific names.

[This link] tells us about 10 myths about school shootings and how each school shooting is apparently unique. There is no “profile” to a school shooter.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on April 19, 2007.

One Response to “Fallout”

  1. I think about this a lot and the only conclusion I’ve come up with is that there isn’t a single reason but a confluence of factors that leads to these aberrant behavior. Often, an incident sets them off or finally compels them to act, but the road to that moment is long-winded and worth investigating into from person to person. There are no cookie cutter guides to this, although the study I quote in my entry more or less gives us some idea.

Leave a Reply

 
