I’m No Longer a Temporary Teacher…

The last few days of summer vacation had me feeling like I was floating on air. There was not much certainty in the aspects of my life as the season drew to a close, and I felt like I was  floating around on a marooned boat in a hurricane-driven sea.

Matters of the heart were weighing down upon me again, coupled with the nastiness of not really feeling reciprocation when it came to talking to a certain person. It was a black, toxic cocktail of self-loathing, self-pity and self-criticism. Of course I almost never pour out that brew here as I feel that there are better ways of dealing with self-implosion. (And no, these do not involve the application of razors or other similarly sharp and injurious objects to my person. Emotional pain is enough, physical pain doesn’t help.)

But see, as Pastor Peter said last Sunday[vid], if you believe in an omnipotent, sovereign God who loves you, why should you worry? If you, having done what you could do, are still faced with an uncertain result, should you not entrust it to the Lord?

It’s so easy for us to say this, of course–and so hard to live by it. We look up and do not see God but a raging thunderstorm. We look down and we do not see solid ground but water rushing around our legs (or our legs sinking into quicksand). But it’s always best to remember that wherever we are, we are given our circumstances at such a time as that to experience God’s glory in a special way. And as such, I think that the news I received today is truly giving my Father the glory He deserves.

I’m PERMANENT! By the grace of God, through hard work and the votes of confidence from my students, I have now been given permanent status.  Good news like this is an awesome start to a new year, and I just hope and pray that things will keep looking up. I look forward to this new year and the things I’ll be able to do.

I’d like to thank everyone who has supported me throughout these two probationary years, and above all I’d like to give glory to my God. This is only the beginning.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on May 31, 2007.

3 Responses to “I’m No Longer a Temporary Teacher…”

  1. Woot~! That job is really meant for you, bro! Cheers! Pacanton ka namaaaaaaaaaaaaaan~!

  2. Glad to have you with us, sir!😀

    See you on Monday.

  3. congratulations sir.🙂 you deserve it!😀

Leave a Reply

 
