Toycon 07//First Day

Just a short event plug before I begin.

Toycon blog[link]
Philippine Toy Convention 2007
June 16-17, 2007
Megatrade Hall 2-3,
SM Megamall
10:00 am to 9:00 pm

*sigh* It was a rather tough day–not awful, generally good–apart from one thing that really ticked me off.
You’d expect that on the first day they students would all know their schedules already. This morning reminded me that I’m teaching in a public school again. Since none of the third year students had gotten their schedules yet, they had to go meet their homeroom advisers for the first period, eating up my first meeting with III-Magnesium. Argh. No offense to whoever made the schedules, I understand it’s a tough job that’s like assembling those 5000-piece jigsaw puzzles with half-inch square pieces–but it was very frustrating to have my first period taken away like that. It would’ve been fine if I met NONE of my classes or if I met them every day this week, but the problem with third year English classes is that we only meet three times a week, and at varying times. My classes meet M-W-F, T-TH-F and M-T-W. Since we won’t be having class again due to Independence Day next Monday, Magnesium and Potassium will now be both behind Beryllium. Argh. At least I was able to have fun with Potassium and the Bollywood videos I showed them, namely Indian Thriller[link] and this romance song number[link].

Sigh. Hopefully everything will turn out fine in the long run despite the schedule mishaps.

I haven’t met the first year kids yet apart from the orientation. They seemed to be really excited about the class play activity–hopefully they do well. With two years’ experience worth of high school-level dramaturgy, I hope that we can make our plays even more awesome this time around.

0708sked.png

Looking at a Good Beginning,
Your Black Lion

~ by J. R. R. Flores on June 4, 2007.

10 Responses to “Toycon 07//First Day”

  1. well, good luck to you, sir–looks like you’ll have a full year ahead of you.🙂

    PS: hopefully you’ll still be teaching english 3 by the time we get to third year.😛

  2. now that you had met us… what is your impression upon meeting us, first year students (specially opal)? your blog is pretty cool… wait.. is my grammar correct? :))

  3. Thanks for visiting. It’s “Now that you have met us…”

    Well, you seem like you’re the sort who’ll enjoy my classes. Still holding my breath on that, though.

  4. *echoes joe’s ps*

    haha. i got so used to having rex in english that i’m still adjusting to our teacher’s methods. >.

  5. wah, my comment got cut. anyway.

    hope they enjoy as much as i did last year (wow, i feel so old now).

    maaarz signing out.

  6. ^_^; Well, you survived half of the year without REX, right?

  7. I hope you have a good year of teaching ahead of you, Sir.😀 We from I-Opal will try to be on our best behavior… hahaha

  8. well, yes, sir. but i still got used to having those battles.😀

    oh, and i hope the plays will go well (wow, that’s still in january!)

    anyway, good luck.

    oh, and may we sit in? :))

    maaarz signing out.

  9. I still can’t help but wish that our teachers used this teaching style back we were still in high school, ol’ chap.

  10. Sir, tuturuan mo (yata) si IC! Astig!😛

Leave a Reply

 
