Our Solemn Hour

I thought I’d be writing about my trip to Baguio, but the suffering I went through is trivial compared to what happened today.

It’s not the first time this has happened, but this unfortunately doesn’t happen rarely enough.

An explosion rocked Glorietta 2 today, and although authorities are hesitating to say it was a bomb, the pictures show masonry ripped from the structure and a shattered escalator. I don’t think an LPG explosion can do that.

I guess it’s human nature to want someone to blame, to want someone to rip apart with many pointy objects. Nobody’s owned up to the explosion yet, however, and I’m fairly certain we’ll never find out the truth. There’s nothing more for me to say. I’ll let Within Temptation speak for me. I was actually saving this song for a listening exercise for my students, but I think I owe it to the people who were injured and the eight who lost their lives. A prayer for this mess of a country and a cry for justice.

Our Solemn Hour

Sanctus Espiritus redeem us from our solemn hour
Sanctus Espiritus insanity is all around us
Sanctus Espiritus! Sanctus Espiritus! Sanctus Espiritus!

In my darkest hours I could not foresee
That the tide could turn so fast to this degree
Can’t believe my eyes
How can you be so blind?
Is the heart of stone, no empathy inside?
Time keeps on slipping away and we haven’t learned
So in the end now what have we gained?

Sanctus Espiritus, redeem us from our solemn hour
Sanctus Espiritus, insanity is all around us
Sanctus Espiritus, is this what we deserve,
can we break free from chains of never-ending agony?

Are they themselves to blame, the misery, the pain?
Didn’t we let go, allowed it, let it grow?
If we can’t restrain the beast which dwells inside
it will find it’s way somehow, somewhere in time
Will we remember all of the suffering
Cause if we fail it will be in vain

Sanctus Espiritus, redeem us from our solemn hour
Sanctus Espiritus, insanity is all around us
Sanctus Espiritus, is this what we deserve,
can we break free from chains of never-ending agony?

~ by J. R. R. Flores on October 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
