Grounded

Earworms:
Nothing in particular
Projects:
The Black and the Purple chapter III: Dagger in the Dark; miscellaneous later encounters.
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Re-reading for a long test.

So it’s been a while since I’ve posted. As much as possible I try to keep a post every week, but sometimes the week just passes by so quickly without much happening. Either I’m losing my observation powers or this year is just really that boring.

I’ve been planning a trip to Singapore for the Christmas break, but there seem to be problems. I don’t know when my passport is going to arrive (earliest, they say, is this Friday), but that might be too late for dad to book any flights. Worse, he’s already checked the flights and it seems they’re all fully booked. It seems everyone’s trying to go to Singapore this Christmas and booked those several months ago already. Sigh.

Boom, Part II
It’s really unfortunate, because I love that place. I also feel I need to get away from the troubles of Manila for at least a few days. The recent bombing of the Batasan complex (the House of Representatives, to non-Filipino readers) really got to me.
While the country is not at all as violent as the US makes it out to be, it really isn’t without risk.

The other night, a powerful IED blew up one of the entrances of the Batasan Complex. As of last night, four people (including one congressman) were killed. I don’t particularly like Congress, but to frag someone with the knowledge that other people will most likely get killed takes a great deal of callousness. Of course, most human beings (especially in the Philippines) exhibit a great deal of callousness anyway.

Going Red?
On a slightly related note, I had a circuitous and rather disturbing discussion with a student last night about Communism. This certain student was gushing praises for this ideology, glossing over the numerous times it has been abused. My point was that it relies too much on the willingness of mankind to share (which in most circumstances does not exist). I may not be an expert on this, but from living in this world long enough and seeing the states that supposedly base their existence on it, I’ve come to conclude that it really doesn’t work, global world or no.

What chilled me the most was what this student said.

Me (11/14/2007 9:24:41 PM): By killing my neighbor because he’s rich, I’ve already put myself above him. What’s to stop me from continuing to do so?
Student (11/14/2007 9:25:21 PM): is he preventing you from getting what you want? or taking resources from you in any way?
Me (11/14/2007 9:25:35 PM): DO I HAVE TO KILL HIM?
Me (11/14/2007 9:25:40 PM): Is the better question.
Student (11/14/2007 9:25:42 PM): beside, are there more of you who want to kill him?

Student (11/14/2007 9:33:31 PM): and the revolution is bloody because the holders of “POWER” won’t share!
Student (11/14/2007 9:33:50 PM): if they did, there wouldn’t be a problem
Student (11/14/2007 9:33:57 PM): hey sir, i have to go
Student (11/14/2007 9:34:05 PM): let’s continue tomorrow
Me (11/14/2007 9:34:09 PM): That line of reasoning is no better than a thug’s.
Me (11/14/2007 9:34:15 PM): “Your money or your life.”
Me (11/14/2007 9:34:23 PM): “If you give me your money, I won’t hurt you.”

I would have continued by saying that it expects people to go quietly when they have the means to suppress a revolution that threatens violence. Again, I’m no expert on Communism, but it disturbs me to see students talking like this as if they were trying to recruit me. I was wondering what had gotten into this kid’s head.The whole conversation left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

I certainly don’t like capitalism. It’s been used to abuse people. But to give up the money I’ve earned and the faith that keeps me going? To forcibly take what belongs to my neighbor because “we’re supposed to share :D”? That’s ridiculous, and I think history shows that people don’t really want it to work the way it’s meant to, anyway.

Anyway, I don’t want to talk about this anymore. All I want this Christmas is to be able to see my family in Singapore.

Praying for a Flight,
Your Black Lion

~ by J. R. R. Flores on November 15, 2007.

3 Responses to “Grounded”

  1. mmm… people just don’t share. lol>< imma go post on that. *mumbles* yes, yes. *crosses fingers* you’ll get a ticket sir^^ *hug*

  2. Sir:

    IS THAT STUDENT FROM PISAY?! ARRGH!!

    Actually, it sounded appealing to me AT FIRST, but since the past readings, it came to me that it has a lot of req’s.

    ” Of course, friend, its music appeals thy ears, but the dark side will change thy mind. It is just impossible for humankind to do this. Please stop hoping for it to come to thee; it will NEVER be as good as its cover.”

  3. Yes, it is.

Leave a Reply

 
