Magnanimity

Earworms
Moral no Soushiki by Angela Aki
miscellaneous bgms for The Black and the Purple
Projects
The Black and the Purple Chapter ???: Fallen Art Thou, Eveningstar!
-Checking stuff.

My mom told me a little story about our senior pastor.

During the chaos of Antonio Trillanes IV’s (henceforth known as Hero-Lad) would-be revolution and pseudoheroics last Thursday, my mom begged off from an important meeting in our church (which is part of her work) to rush home and be with us. The problem is, she completely forgot to inform Pastor Peter.
He gave my mom a call a few hours after Hero-Lad surrendered. According to my mom, Pastor Peter said, in his calmest voice, that he was disappointed and that she had embarrassed him. The way he said it was so polite and gentle that it bothered her conscience the whole weekend. She then made up her mind to apologize to him as soon as she’d meet him again.

Fast forward to last Tuesday. My mom did meet with Pastor Peter and offered her most sincere apologies. She asked if she could make up for it in any way. Pastor Peter, bewildered, asked her what for? My mom reminded him of her mess-up. He simply answered: “I’ve forgotten about that already. Ruth, when I look at you, I only see your hard work and the dedication you’ve put into your role in this church. I’ve forgotten all about it. Don’t worry.”

I couldn’t help but let my eyes water a little when hearing of this story. Looking at myself, I’m probably one of the least forgiving people I know. I’m hard on others, and even harder on myself. This feeling was even compounded by an incident yesterday at the Trinoma taxi stand.

I was waiting in line (there really wasn’t much of one), and since I was carrying a whole bunch of heavy stuff and felt sick, I wanted to get home right away. A couple of ladies came by, and since there was no real line, they promptly began to pull over the next taxi that was arriving. As the taxi stopped, I told them in a loud voice (they were more than 20 feet from me) that I was there first. They seemed to understand, said “Oh, alright, no problem.” and let me take their cab. (There was another one pulling up behind them anyway.)

I really felt like a jackass afterwards. Many of us profess to be Christians, but we forget the core tenets. We forget that Christ came into the world not to condemn it, but to save it (John 3:17), and that we are to love our neighbors–and our enemies. It’s something I’ve been struggling to apply in my life, but it’s really been one of the most difficult things I’ve ever tried. After all, we humans are naturally selfish.

Anyway, school’s finally out. The Christmas break has begun. I’ve still got a whole bunch of stuff to do before my trip to Singapore, and thankfully my trip doesn’t mean I have to set aside updating my blog. Now I just have to get my camera repaired.
Dad’s planning an overnight trip to Malacca, which involves staying in this [really cool hotel]. What’s even better is that we’re going to have a food trip there! (I seriously doubt I’m going to lose any weight in Singapore)

More updates within the weekend and over the course of next week. Hopefully I’ll be able to tell you more about my upcoming one-shot Singapore D&D campaign, as well as some updates to The Black and the Purple.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on December 7, 2007.

2 Responses to “Magnanimity”

  1. Yo. When will you be touring Singapore? Just asking out of curiosity because i remembered Julius saying something about himself getting a Christmas break.

    Why is this Trillanes fella called Hero-Lad? Is it some form of mockery, since from what i’ve read he’s the complete opposite of that?

  2. I’ll be in Singapore from the 18th of December to the 1st of January.

    And yes, that’s mockery. I never liked how some obscure superheroes had ‘Lad’ in their nickname, so I used it there.

Leave a Reply

 
