OBAMA

I’m totally elated to see Obama win. The historical value of this election, the incredible change that it promises, and the hope that it brings–all of these are deeply inspiring, especially to people like me who live in a country where there is no hope and no change.

I agree with many of his values, and although there may be a few that I disagree with, I feel that he can truly bring unity to America. I pray that he might receive the Lord’s guidance in this, that he may be firm in his convictions and decisions, and that he might be used by the Lord to bless many.

I couldn’t help but be moved by the sight of Jesse Jackson shedding tears as he stood in the celebratory crowd. I can’t begin to guess the cocktail of emotions that was brewing in him at that time, but perhaps it was a mix of pride, fulfillment, and relief that the civil rights movement has finally culminated in a black man finally being elected president.

I don’t know if you’ll see this, Mr. Obama, but congratulations. I found your speech truly inspiring despite its realistic and pragmatic tone. May the Lord bless you on your long journey to change.

PS: I also have to give credit to John McCain for his honorable exit. Mr. McCain, I was also moved to see you declare your support for Mr. Obama. My nation is plagued by sore losers who never fail to whine when they lose. It’s said that nobody ever loses in this country; people only get cheated. Whether that’s true or not, I was happy to see how you handled your concession. God bless you as you continue to work for your country.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on November 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
