Run For Your Lives!

Thanks to an early Christmas gift from my dad, I’ve now been able to step up my fitness regimen.

Dad sent a Nike + iPod kit a couple of weeks ago, and I have to say that it’s been a very helpful little gadget.

It’s a small sensor pod that either fits into your shoe sole (if you’re actually using a Nike+ pair) or can clip onto your laces with a separately-sold clip (which I use) that tracks your movement. It beams the information to your iPod Nano or iPod Touch (it comes with a plug-in transmitter for the Nano, though the Touch has a built-in receiver for it). The application the iPod comes with (No need for installing the app, all you need is the sensor to err, awaken it) calculates your pace and distance traveled, while playing your favorite playlist. It even comes with a Power Song function which you can activate when you need that extra rush towards the end of your run.

Since Dad can check on my progress, I find it very encouraging. Even my brother is now expressing interest in it, so that we’d be able to encourage one another. I find this more helpful than it seems, really.

These are my runs so far. I’ve been running for longer than I thought I could, and my endurance has been getting better. Still a long way off from being a marathon runner, but wow. I’m the guy who used to run 10 meters around a track oval and walk the rest of the way.

Here’s my workout playlist:

Ash Like Snow by The Brilliant Green
Hitomi no Tsubasa by Access
Bye Bye Beautiful by Nightwish
Whoever Brings the Night by Nightwish
Thunder’s Mighty Roar by Rhapsody of Fire
Bring It On by Steven Curtis Chapman
My Land by Sonata Arctica
Full Moon by Sonata Arctica
GONG by JAM Project
Evil Shine by Ikuzawa Yuuichi
Reach Out for the Light by Avantasia
DEEP RED by JAM Project
Precious Jerusalem by Blind Guardian
The Pharaoh Sails to Orion by Nightwish
Wish I Had an Angel by Nightwish
Rain of a Thousand Flames by Rhapsody of Fire
Queen of the Dark Horizons by Rhapsody of Fire
The Power of One by Sonata Arctica
Over the Rainbow by Freedom Call
Libera Me From Hell by Iwasaki Taku (Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann)
Triumph or Agony by Rhapsody of Fire
Reasons to Live by Dragonforce
Heartbreak Armageddon by Dragonforce
Inside the Winter Storm by Dragonforce
The Warrior Inside by Dragonforce
Scars of Yesterday by Dragonforce
Heroes of Our Time by Dragonforce
Nyan Nyan Service Medley by May’N and Megumi Nakajima (from the last episode of Macross Frontier)
LION by May’N and Megumi Nakajima (Macross Frontier second OP)
Northern Cross by May’N (Macross Frontier second OP)
Sorairo Days by Shoko Nakagawa (Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann OP)

Power Song: E.P.M. by Dragonforce. I mean, what better song to use for a Power Song than a song entitled EXTREME POWER METAL?

Happy running.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on November 25, 2008.

One Response to “Run For Your Lives!”

  1. sir. i used the wrong ol name. it’s my mom’s *die* don’t accept it, okie? tctc. thank goodness for comment moderation:D

Leave a Reply

 
