RIP Nike+

After less than two months of use, my Nike+ now refuses to start. It died without warning this morning as I was about to begin my run. Now my iPod can’t detect it at all. I just used this thing yesterday, too.

After doing a quick search on the Net, I learned that this little gadget has a seemingly random battery life. Sometimes it lasts for 450 hours (my dad’s been using his more often and far longer than I’ve been using mine) and sometimes it doesn’t last longer than 4 hours. Mine lasted for more than a month, thankfully.

I still can’t get over how this thing doesn’t have a replaceable battery, or can’t be recharged. And they expect us to throw this away and buy a whole new unit? What gives?

This product would be a lot better if:

1. The battery was replaceable or rechargeable.

2. The battery life wasn’t so random (which may be caused by the product sitting in storage for a long time before being shipped and purchased).

3. If there was a way to track the battery life. I didn’t get any warning, and there’s no battery gauge to speak of. It just gave up the ghost.

Apple, please. And I was so impressed with this tool when I got it. Now I’m frustrated that it died so quickly, and that you want us to fork over another $19 to get a new one. At least treat your customers with some modicum of respect.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on December 23, 2008.

One Response to “RIP Nike+”

  1. Well, but then this is primarily a Nike product before it’s an Apple product. Besides, if they can stuff USB rechargeable batteries in teensie bluetooth earpieces, they should be able to do this with the Nike+ unit too.

Leave a Reply

 
