Singapore Swag

I’ve got three days left in Singapore, but thankfully I’ve accomplished most of what I’ve set out to do.

I got here last Friday and already my money is running low—-but I’ve purchased the following:

dsc03891dsc03909

Magic Item Compendium and Monster Manual 3 Cost Sg$66.10, while Red Hand of Doom cost about Sg$45.

All of these books were impossible to find in the Philippines,  and it seemed like no hobby store was interested in restocking their 3.5 material–which is probably why Neutral Grounds has all its 3.5 books at 60% off. This is of course due to Wotsie being a tad too overconfident about 4E’s sales. I’m sticking to v. 3.5 for a while. Probably 10 more years. Then we’ll see what 5th Ed looks like.

dsc03906

I also got these three collectible figurines. Rossiu and Yomako-sensei figumates from Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann (left and right, respectively), and Kusuha Mizuha (center) from Super Robot Wars Alpha 3. I wanted to get the Yoko Nendoroid, but its $60 price tag made me remember that my money was intended for purchasing D&D books.😛 These figures were of the random sort that you get inside sealed boxes.

One other particularly interesting thing I saw was this replica of the evil Warcraft III sword Frostmourne by Caesar’s. The outlet was closed, but they had their sword on display in the window, so I decided to snap a shot with my phone camera.

04072009095

Purchases aside, it’s pretty awesome to have almost my entire dad’s side family here. It isn’t often that we get to spend much time with each other, and having them all here makes things pretty cool.

Dave Arneson

Just last year, Gary Gygax, the co-creator of Dungeons & Dragons, passed away. Now, it seems that his partner, Dave Arneson, won’t last much longer. His cancer has taken a turn for the worse, and the doctors aren’t giving him much time. It will be a shame to see this man go, but I think the Lord has better things in mind for him. It’s known that both of these men have become Christians, so I know their lives are in the good Lord’s hands.

Still, I offer my prayers for Mr. Arneson’s health. Maybe a miracle might happen.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on April 8, 2009.

One Response to “Singapore Swag”

  1. Gotta love that sword on display.

Leave a Reply

 
