3 of 3: Learning How to Cook

My brother, a chef-in-training, left the country last night for his internship in a hotel in Kuala Lumpur. Since he began studying the culinary arts, he’s many a spectacular lunch, and I’ve never had the chance to return the favor.

Now that he’s away, I had to face the reality of being forced to eat cafeteria food again. Now I typically do not enjoy Filipino food, and the fast food alternative is not particularly healthy. Only one option was left: learn how to cook.

I have absolutely no formal training. I’ve never even really gone to any class or certificate course. I just figured I might have the genes for it somehow: if my dad and brother could cook, maybe I could too.

This afternoon, I realized that nobody else could cook the food I wanted, so I had to come up with something I’d actually eat.

Thankfully, yesterday morning I saw French Food at Home on AFC, and one dish they had in particular was doable with the ingredients at hand: pea soup.

All I did was throw in two cups of frozen peas into the blender with some water (about half a cup or so) and pureed it until it had some semblance of being liquid–just enough to pour it. The result was kind of chunky, but I thought it would be more interesting that way.

Pour that into a saucepan and mix in half a cup of fresh milk to liquefy it further. Keep stirring to mix the milk evenly and to keep the chunks from sinking to the bottom. Add salt and pepper to taste.

For a smoother texture, use less peas and more milk, or run the peas through the blender more. (Our blender was malfunctioning, so I didn’t get to use it properly.) Serve with croutons or bread. (I had half a French baguette and some extra virgin olive oil to go with it. )

DSC04336DSC04338

So uh, I guess it was alright. Pretty filling for soup, and definitely easy to make. Excellent for those lonely, rainy Sunday nights.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on June 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
