Nomnomnom

My brother, a culinary student, told me of a small restaurant he and his classmates had tried. It was close to the area, so after driving my brother to get a haircut, I decided to try it with him.

Nomnomnom Happy Food (a ridiculously cute name for a restaurant) is wedged into the back of  1 Tomas Morato cor. E. Rodriguez Sr. avenue. While the place is small and rather spartan (having a bare cement floor), it’s well-lit and actually quite cozy.

My brother and I got quite a chuckle out of the menu, which contains many dishes that are named with rather silly puns (“Talong and Lasting Love,” or “Nuggets Mo Ba?” ).  The food is a healthy mix of vegetarian, chicken, and seafood dishes. There is not a beef or pork dish in sight. I ordered Holopainen Special, a vegetarian fettuccine pasta dish with eggplant, zucchini, bell peppers, and hemp seeds. My brother, on the other hand, ordered their Enchilada (which their menu describes as a Mexican version of lasagna).

We also ordered their fried ravioli, which contained spinach and cheese, and was served with yogurt sauce and salsa.

Spinach Ravioli

Freshly-made, the deep-fried ravioli was crunchy and flavorful. While the yogurt sauce was a bit thin, the ravioli was an excellent appetizer. Cost: Php 90 for 6 pieces.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enchilada

Baked thoroughly and piping hot, the enchilada was large, filling, and tasty. Price: Php 160

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Holopainen Special

While I have no idea why it’s called “Holopainen” (the only Holopainen I know is Tuomas Holopainen, the songwriter of the Finnish symphonic metal band Nightwish), I don’t really care. This pasta was excellent.

Despite it being a vegetarian dish, it was very flavorful and filling. The taste reminded me of Mexicali’s veggie burrito, as it contained many of the same vegetables. The pasta was well-cooked and al dente.

Although a bit expensive for a pasta dish, I enjoyed it and did not regret choosing it (unlike, say, the “gourmet pasta” in Pancake House, which costs way too much for too little of something which is nowadays a bit too common). If you want something different, Holopainen special is the way to go.

Price: Php 190

Overall, I highly recommend this little restaurant.

Check out their Multiply.

~ by J. R. R. Flores on November 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
